Distorted

I generally visit Boston for a minimum of one week and maximum of 2 weeks. Every time I visit I feel as if I’ve been visiting home for awhile, but this time I feel as if I’ve been back for MONTHS. Also, this time around I had a bit of eagerness to leave and despite a few bumps during my visit home, I really missed the privacy and peace and quiet I have back here in Cali. However, no matter how short/long my stay is I will always get emotional and teary eyed whenever the plane is taking off to go back to Cali. I think I feel that way because it’s a sense of reality knowing how far I am about to be from my family and friends. I don’t think that feeling will ever go away when that plane takes off. When I arrive back in Cali, I always feel as if I didn’t even leave…if that makes any sense. As soon as I get back to my place, I unpack and head to bed. The next morning when I wake up in my bedroom here in Cali, I feel as if going to Boston was all a dream as if I never went back at all. Also I think not seeing my suitcase and putting all my things away the night before tricks my mind in thinking that I didn’t go anywhere. My sense of reality seems a bit distorted to some degree when it comes to traveling to and from Boston.

Right now, I’m a bit homesick but I need to get back into the swing of things here.

2 comments
  1. inkat1 said:

    Moving is a traumatic experience. It helps you grow, but it is a hard thing to deal with. I never really faced the reality of this until someone pointed it out to me. I said, I don’t know what’s going on with me, my personality is not normal. He said, traumatic life change. I really didn’t realize. Being away from familiar family and friends is also hard, but once you get past the initial shock of being your own self, it might possibly be refreshing? Maybe. I don’t know.

  2. Perhaps that’s one of the challenges of having roots in more than one place. I only have roots here and I think it would take me awhile to adjust to the traveling.

Leave a Reply

