Not That Boujee

I’m a workaholic and don’t take enough time off or get away as often as I’d like. I’d LOVE to get away somewhere internationally but once I’m debt free (which shouldn’t be much longer!!), I’ll plan a nice international trip for myself. For now, I don’t mind traveling within the U.S. or buying myself something nice. Treating myself to sushi or buying myself a book or flowers are considered “nice” things to me. Back then when I was much more naive with my money and spent it on clothes, shoes and handbags (both luxury and non). To be honest I’m not even sure how I even had much money to spend like that back then, especially since I have a much more substantial salary. With my good salary, I don’t even spend like how I used to. Nowadays, if you leave me alone at Target or Daiso and I’d be very content. The most “luxurious” thing that I’ve ever purchased is my current car and that’s already flashy enough for my taste. I bought it because I wanted a new car, I never took time off, and I didn’t want to spend it on buying property at the time. Overall, I deserved it because I worked so hard.

For quite a few years now I’ve eyed this one luxury handbag. I’ve done a lot of research, read reviews, and whatnot to see if it was worth pulling the trigger on. If I’m going to spend THAT much money, I better do my research. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not all that materialistic or needed a designer bag to impress anyone. With the recent occurrences and since I’ve felt like I deserve something nice, I thought I’d treat myself to a nice designer handbag and off to the mall I went. When I arrived to the store, I was getting excited about my purchase. I tried the bag on to see how it looked and immediately I was ready to checkout. I left the store feeling good about my purchase and couldn’t stop looking at the bag when I got home.

Well that “love” didn’t last too long because the next morning, there was a change of heart. It’s almost as if I had beer goggles on during the purchase and the next morning I had a hangover wondering, “what happened?”. The more I looked at it, the more I realized that it didn’t suit me. It would’ve suited the old me, but not this grandma right here. It’s a beautiful bag, but I’ve come to terms that I’m not that boujee. I decided to return it because I couldn’t suck it up to keep it, but I also felt so tacky to return it. I even felt a bit embarrassed returning it, but whatever. After returning the bag, I opted to buy another bag elsewhere that is much more practical, both in style and cost. I’m really happy that I made the return and opted for something else. I feel much happier with this new purchase and don’t feel as awkwardly flashy as I did before. It really wasn’t about the cost of the bag. Not saying that like I’m a baller or anything. It had more to do with my style and functionality. I felt uncomfortable having to be cautious with a designer bag. Granted the designer or non designer bags that I’ve had in the past, I’ve always been careful with. If I got even the tiniest spot on that bag, it would freak me out. It just wasn’t practical.

Is this what happens when we get older? Well, it looks like I have money left over to buy myself sushi, books and flowers again. 🙂

3 comments
  1. I like your practical approach towards spending. It will serve you well in life.

  2. I used to be a lot more impulsive on purchases, but it’s gotten better. It requires a lot of discipline.

  3. I like the switch to a more practical mindset. Money well spent!

Leave a Reply

