The Right Show

Over the years, I’ve kinda sorta stopped watching tv. There wasn’t much on that interested me. Even if the latest tv show was really good, I never jumped on the band wagon just because it was trending. While I was on my rollercoaster ride from hell last year and I was really unhappy, I decided to find something to watch on tv to help me get my mind off of things. Nothing was really sparking any interest for me as expected. However I noticed I would just get upset regardless what I was watching and it was so bizarre. For example, I remember I was watching ‘the Hangover 2’ during my flight back from Boston one time and I started tearing up. W-T-F? I was dealing with a lot of heavy issues and I know I wasn’t myself, but c’mon now, really?! Crying watching ‘THE HANGOVER2″?!?! I felt like a whack job after that moment.

One of the shows that I enjoy watching a lot is ‘Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD’, ‘Shark Tank’, ‘Big Bang Theory’ along with a couple of shows on Bravo. Some time during the Fall, I rediscovered ‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’. I had watched it when it initially aired years ago, but never kept up with it. After watching a couple of episodes, I felt happy. I got a good laugh from these drag queens acting so silly and sassy. Plus I thought it was quite fascinating to see their transformation. Soon afterwards I started binge watching from Season 1 to Season 8. It was interesting to learn these drag queens personalities, how they got started and their overall background. Each of their stories as to how they got into drag or their childhood was really interesting and some were quite sad. Honestly I never really understood too much about drag queens. I just thought it was just a guy dressing up as a woman but there is more to it. Well it still is a man dressing up as a woman, but they’re pretty much selling you a temporary fantasy to make you laugh and to have a good time. I’ve learned some of these ‘ladies’ do it as an escape for them.

I’ve become pretty obsessed with RuPaul’s Drag Race and started looking up events that any of my favorite drag queens from the show would be at. My first event was back in January 2017 in SF and I got to see Trixie Mattel perform. My friends came along and it was so much fun. Last month I went to this event called ‘Haters Roast: The Shady Tour’ in SF where about 6-8 of the drag queens that were on RuPaul’s Drag Race were having a comedy roast. The ones that were there the night I had gone was: Phi Phi O’Hara, KimChi, Bob the Drag Queen, Jinx Monsoon, Ginger Minj, Cynthia Lee Fontaine, Latrice Royale, and Acid Betty. I found this event pretty last minute and figured I needed a good pick me up after my most recent trip from Boston because I knew I’d be pretty unhappy. I bought the Super Fan ticket which consisted of a front row seat, autographed poster and meet and greet with the drag queens. I literally felt like a little girl meeting all of the Disney princesses when I took a picture with them all haha. They were so beautiful, friendly and of course funny. The show was awesome and I had a really good time.

This coming weekend I’m going to another event with drag queens that were once again on RuPaul’s Drag Race: Alaska Thunderfuck 5000, Katya Zamalodchikova, and Detox. I CANNOT FUCKING WAIT!!!! I’m pretty excited and my old work mom/friend is going to come with me. She’s also become a bit obsessed with it so it’ll be nice to go with someone that enjoys this as much as I do. It’ll be another meet and greet opportunity, which I’m so excited about. Oddly this will be happening during the late afternoon-ish, which I don’t mind. I can’t handle staying out too late anymore anyways. Also, next month I’m seeing one of the funniest drag queens ever that was on RDR, Bianca Del Rio. She’s having a tour called “Not Today Satan” and is an insult comedian as well. Can’t wait for that!

Overall, I was relieved to finally find something to watch that wasn’t going to make me cry like a baby…even if it was funny. We all need some kind of source that will provide us a guaranteed good laugh. Laughter is good for the soul.

2 comments
  1. I hope you will have a great time at the show! I have to admit I don’t know much about the drag queen culture and history. One of these days, I need to learn more about them.

    • Connie said:

      Thanks! They’re pretty entertaining especially when they talk shit to each other haha. Definitely worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

