Health Kick

I barely cook any meat and at most it’ll be fish. Lately I’ve noticed that when I do have chicken or beef, I get nauseous. I’ve steered away from eating beef since I noticed it had made me feeling nauseous over the years. Now I feel like I’m going to toss my cookies after tasting any meat. Maybe I’ve just gotten used to not eating meat besides fish. I don’t know, but it made me think if I should go vegan or not. Wouldn’t hurt to give it a go for a month. Reality is I love fish too much. If I could eat sushi everyday, that would be awesome but I’m not trying to die from mercury poisoning and I’m not ballin’ like that haha. Giving up fish would be hard, although the Pescetarian route seems to a better route. The path to go vegan is something that I’m really considering as a good challenge though. We shall see.

With starting a new job, I’ve been able to focus a bit more on myself again. I haven’t really been taking care of myself. Definitely gained weight from the stress that I’ve dealt with at my last job. Plus as much as I enjoyed working in SF and being spoiled by the yummy food trucks, that contributed to the weight gain as well. My sciatica is still lingering around, but I feel like I’m getting better. I was going to acupuncture since late October and then I started going to the chiropractor along with acupuncture since March because I noticed that I felt like total shit. I remember one day I suddenly had a hard time walking and it reminded me of how this whole shit show started. I was in a ton of pain and could barely walk. Even laying down I felt like shit. Since then things has gotten better, but I’ve decided to stop going to acupuncture. Just going to stick with the chiropractor for now and see how things go. Maybe I’ll incorporate acupuncture in the future again, but with all of these medical bills it’s been contributing to the stress weight too.

The last time I worked out was maybe back in April or May, so it’s been awhile. I got myself into a good routine and took it easy since I didn’t want to make the sciatica worst. Unfortunately the shit I was dealing with at work conquered over everything and I was in a dark hole. I didn’t want to do anything because I was so unhappy. I was overworked and just couldn’t really make time to do things for myself because all I wanted to do after work was to get any sleep possible. Now as I’m finding my way back into the light, I really need to work out again. I have to admit that I’ve gotten a bit self conscious with my body. I swear that crazy bitch really tore me down and I’m not as physically confident about myself anymore.

With this new job it’s been A LOT easier to eat healthy again, although it didn’t help to look at the keg of beers in front of me while I was munching on them greens. I’m back to strictly salads for lunch since my options are quite limited, but my company has a really good salad bar so I don’t mind. Food at these tech companies aren’t bad, but I miss WALKING OUTSIDE to get my lunch. Damn you SF food for spoiling me! The gym at the company is just down the hall so I really have no excuse to not go, even though I already have a gym membership. I remember at a previous job that’s down the street from where I currently work, I would go to the gym at the company after work since it was a good way to kill time and to not be stuck in traffic. At that time I was working out 3-5 times a week and my landlord has noticed that I lost weight. Perhaps it is better that I’m back working in Silicon Valley again.

Considering on biking and yoga as a part of my new gym regiment since my left leg still isn’t functioning 100%.

3 comments
  1. I only see the words “kegs of beer”… I hope your back and leg heal. Sciatic pain is worrisome.

    • Connie said:

      Thanks! Still got beer on my mind, esp this Japanese IPA *drools*

      • I could use one today. It’s hot and muggy over here right now.

Leave a Reply

