Small World

As I get older, I see how small our world truly is. I had gone to Phoenix for the first time earlier this month. My friend BN, who was my 2nd grade best friend now lives in Phoenix now…along with his cousin MT. I’ve known MT since I was 14 so we have A LOT of history. We started out as friends and we kinda sorta always liked each other but never acted on it until some time during college for me. We did the whole long distance thing and granted he came to visit me a lot since a lot of his family were still in Boston. Unfortunately things didn’t work out. We were in different phases of our lives when we had dated. I was in college and partying a lot, whereas he was helping his family run a business, plus he’s a few years older than me. I was bummed out that things didn’t work out, but we’ve been able to remain as friends. I haven’t seen him ever since we dated, but he would send me an occasional text message to see how I’m doing.

Ever since I moved to Cali, he had gotten in touch with me here and there. Although I felt as if there were moments he was trying to rekindle a flame that can barely be lit now. For example, if we were just casually chatting on the phone he’ll be like “how was your day babe?” I’m sitting there like “uhhh… wtf?” lol. He’ll sprinkle in the word ‘babe’ when he can and oddly I just cringe when he does lol. He’s been shafted to the friend zone since things didn’t work out. I do tell him to not call me ‘babe’ since we’re just friends. I can’t see myself with him nor do I really think he’s my type anymore. Nice guy, don’t get me wrong. Just not for me. I had always cringed in going to Phoenix because I always felt slightly obligated to visit him if I was to go. I wouldn’t mind seeing him, but I’m not ready. Not thinking I’d catch feelings, but I have this feeling he’ll go strolling down memory lane with me and I don’t want that.

Fast forward to when I had gone to Phoenix earlier this month. My close friend KH from Boston and I were driving back from Sedona. It was getting a little late and we were starving after driving and exploring Sedona. So we just picked whatever restaurant was in or around Phoenix. We decided to eat in Scottsdale just to check it out. When we arrived to the restaurant, KH went to the bathroom and I asked the waiter to bring out a dessert since it was KH’s birthday. I had texted BN about suggestions for Phoenix and then we made really last minute plans for brunch the next day. KH was asking how I know him and I got into the whole story about him as well as MT. Here comes the “fun” part…

TELL ME WHY MT WALKS INTO THE RESTAURANT AFTER I LITERALLY JUST FINISHED MY STORY?!?!?!?!!??! lol. When I tell people that stupid, weird shit happens to me, that is a prime example haha. We were sitting at a table top right by the entrance and where I sat, I was facing whoever was walking right into the restaurant. The table next to us sat a couple of guys. I was taking a sip of my drink and when I looked up, I saw MT walk right into the restaurant. I immediately tried to cover my face and turned the other way lol. KH was asking me what’s wrong? I was like “WTF…………” I had told her that MT was right behind her and she freaked out lol. She asked if I was sure and I was extremely positive. How did I know? Well … 1) Asian guy 2) no one else looks like him 3) he was wearing a Boston Red Sox cap 4) his car was parked right in front.

After he walked in, the waiter then comes to my table with the dessert singing happy birthday really loud LOL. I’m thinking, “REALLY?!?!!?!” lol. I sang along but kept facing the other way in case MT turned around. Talk about awkward. We took a few bites of the dessert and I paid for the bill ASAP. When we got up to leave, I immediately just walked straight and didn’t make any eye contact. I just walked fast out to the car lol. KH couldn’t believe that all of that just happened. What are the odds of running into an ex …out of state (even though he lives there) yet alone at the most random restaurant that I picked???? lol.

I never mentioned to MT that I saw him nor did I mention it to BN. But BN told MT that I was in town after seeing a picture of us from brunch. MT texted me briefly when I was still in town and I just apologized that I didn’t reach out since my trip was very short.

I still think that whole run in was a very bizarre coincidence.

3 comments
  1. I would have paid big bucks to watch the Happy Birthday moment. hahahaha…..

    • Connie said:

      You and my friends would’ve really enjoyed the look on my face. SMH…

  2. lol, that is quite the coincidence! 🙂 I’ve been lucky in that I haven’t ran into any exes here in nyc, and I would very much like to keep it that way haha!

Leave a Reply

