False Alarm

Today I’ve been trying to catch up on sleep and e-mails that I attempted to ignore while I was away traveling. When I woke up from my nap, my mom called and this is where I get freaked out. She called asking me symptoms for a heart attack since my dad was saying he was having chest pains lately. My parents had planned to go to the hospital as soon as they closed their business tonight. I told her to keep me updated with my dad’s status and what the doctor says.

It was hard for me to go about my evening trying to get chores and work done. I just sat there feeling so worried and attempting to distract myself. I didn’t want to keep calling my parents to see what was happening. I just had to stay calm. I was starting to look at flights to go home in case anything got really serious. I was prepared to book a flight as I continued playing the waiting game.

Hours later my mom called me back reporting that my dad was okay. I was veryyy relieved to hear that. He had felt some gas blocked in his chest and the doctor gave him some liquid to drink to clear it up. My dad felt better drinking that stuff that he wanted more of it haha. The doctor gave him more to take home and my parents cooked themselves a late dinner once they got home.

After speaking to my mom, my dad hogged the phone to let me know that he’s okay. I told them how I didn’t eat dinner yet because I was so worried and was ready to come home if I had to. The more my dad told me he felt better, I just started crying and felt guilty for living so far. I had to hang up on him since I was starting to cry hysterically. He’s my best friend and to hear about anything bad happening to him does a big number on those heart strings. It made me question how much longer will I stay here in Cali or what if the next time it’s something serious.

It’s a very unsettling feeling and I just feel very anxious about everything that’s happening back home.

8 comments
  1. Luckily your dead is ok. Must have been a very unsettling few hours especially when one lives apart.

    • Connie said:

      Thanks and definitely very unsettling!

      • BTW, sorry about the typo. Meant to write “dad”.

  2. I know the feeling. My dad has had cases where he feels he’s having something, but it hasn’t been anything lethal. I’ve gotten calls where he he’s in the hospital and I start freaking out, but it’s thankfully never anything lethal.

    • Connie said:

      Hope nothing serious happens to both of our dad’s in the future!

  3. That’s scary. I’m glad that he’s ok. Don’t feel guilty about living away. If I was a father, I would want my kids to be on their own regardless where life takes them.

    • Connie said:

      Thanks! I think that guilt will always be there no matter how hard I try not to feel that way. I’m overly protective of my parents and friends back home. I just feel bad when I can’t do anything to help.

Leave a Reply

