Goodbye 2015

I came to a realization this morning that I never noticed up until now how close and involved I was with my colleagues this past year. It’s not a bad thing, but just saying. They do say that you spend more time with your colleagues than you do with your family. This is pretty true. Throughout my career I’ve never worked with such a collaborative group of people that can work so cohesively together, both inside and outside the work environment. Also, I’ve never had such a supportive boss leader and mentor in my career and that was something I’ve always been on the search for. I started to get all choked up and started tearing up when I told him all of this. There is nothing more fulfilling than to be at a job with a great team and kick ass manager. No matter how much my salary is, it can never reward me with those things.

Lately I’ve been pretty emotional in the office with all of the changes that are occurring at work, but my team now realizes how much of a soft spot I have for all them with them and this career. If I’m crying at work, it just means I really give a fuck about the work and the people. I’ve never cried this much at a job EVER haha. Despite the changes, I’m ready to move forward into the new year and to continue producing great design work. This past week I’ve been stepping it up and taking the initiative to help move my team into a more positive light since we’ve been so bogged down by the changes. I can only hope for more good to come to our team since we’ve all worked so hard to pave a path for ourselves at this organization.

Besides work, it was always great to visit home this past year. I didn’t expect to fly back as often as I did, but it was always a nice escape from Cali. During my visits home, it felt really good that I was able to provide again for my parents. To see how happy my parents were whenever I spoiled them made me really happy. It’s my way to reassure them that I’m doing fine for myself out here. They do worry about how I’m alone out here, but they’re gradually easing up that their baby girl is fine.

It was always a great time seeing my close friends as well as friends that I haven’t seen in YEARS. I met up with my “2nd grade best friend” in SF. It was interesting that it wasn’t awkward at all when we met up. Granted I haven’t seen him since maybe even middle school since he moved around a lot. So a lot of time has passed us. He’s a really great and extremely funny guy and I’m glad we’ve still kept in touch ever since we had met up. It was also great catching up with a friend from Boston that has also relocated to Cali. We were never close, but she’s a great girl and it was just comforting to have a familiar face from home that can understand you.

As for my NYE plans, I don’t feel like doing ANYTHING. I’m exhausted and simply want some peace and quiet. I want to relax and to not think about anything. Well I might actually continue declutter my room. I have set items that I need to donate and need to get that organized. Otherwise, I will most likely be asleep by 10pm haha. I sound like a boring old lady but oh well.

What I hope to accomplish in the new year is:

  • continue growing and developing more skill sets in my career
  • use personal time to create new design projects for myself
  • hope this sciatica bullshit goes away FOREVER -_-
  • get back into a work out regiment despite that sciatica is still lingering
  • travel more and hopefully somewhere international, which reminds me that I need to renew my passport
  • get back into photography again

 

I think that’s all I have in mind for now. Hope everyone has a happy new year! 🙂

4 comments
  1. happyobligations said:

    I was in bed by 10:30pm on NYE haha. One of my resolutions is to declutter my room. I signed up for something called January Cure on apartment therapy. Not sure if it’ll help but it’s supposed to be a month of emails to help you organize your cleaning!

    • Connie said:

      Thanks for the suggestion. I’m pretty good about decluttering. Just haven’t been busy and haven’t had the time to sort my stuff out -_- Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. Happy new year my dear! I hope all your accomplishments for the year come true! Here’s to a wonderful 2016 for you 🙂

    • Connie said:

      Thanks girl! Happy New Year to you as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

