Compatibility Challenges

My close girlfriend M was staying with me recently in Cali. During her last night at my place we were having some girl talk about guys and dating. We talked about exes and the guys that I used to date or “talk” to. It was interesting to reminisce, but at the same time it made me think “what the fuck is wrong with you?”. It does bother me to an extent as to why it never worked out with some of these guys. It does kinda make me feel as if I’m a failure when it comes to guys. I remember at that moment I had said to M I feel as though with all these bad apples in my basket, I’m not meant to be with a nice guy. I don’t say that in a “boo hoo, poor me” attitude, but it is what it is. I’ve dated different types of guys and have been open minded, but for whatever reason it never works out. I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I’ve kinda given up on trying to date again. M asked what I was looking for in a guy. I want an independent, funny, caring, smart, ambitious, etc. guy, but of course those are such generic descriptions to anyone’s wants in a guy.

M was telling me about an article that our friend N and her boyfriend read. It was filled with a list of questions to see how compatible you and your significant other are. M thought it’d be fun to ask me some of the questions and I didn’t mind either. I remember one of the questions she had asked was if it would be a deal breaker that my significant other was family oriented or not. Things along those lines. Then she asked me to complete the sentence to this: “If I had to share anything with my significant other, it would be ____________.” I said, everything and M gave me this corny smile and said “awww”. But it’s true that I would share everything with my significant other.

We were then discussing about how some girls that we know are with great guys, but they’re not much of a great catch themselves. They’re lazy, unattractive, pathetic, etc. I said to M that I’m not that bad looking, hard worker, independent, funny, etc etc, yet I’m still single. WHY?! I’m just having my moment where being single sucks right now. I just want someone that loves me more than I love them. A selfish desire, but it’s what I want. I’m used to taking care of others around me as well as myself and for once I just want to be taken care of. I’m a simple girl that doesn’t ask for much, but during single moments like this it seems as if I’m asking for the world. Sighs…

2 comments
  1. Sorry to hear that you are having such a difficult time finding that one nice guy with whom you can share everything with and have him love you more than you love him. (That is a rather peculiar desire–first for me! LOL)

    Normally, I hear gals tell me that I must have at least a house of my own, a fancy car, six-figures bank account, etc before they would even give me the time of day! But I digress~~~ ;p

    But yea, that elusive “love”. That’s highly unusually hearing that from any gal in Cali these days. What part of Cali are you from, btw?

Leave a Reply

