Discipline

There’s been so many changes lately and I’m still trying to digest it all. My mind is very scattered and I’m totally out of it. With all the major changes at work along with my health, I realized I need to be much more disciplined like how I used to be. Prior to the chaos at work, my mind was already drifting and I need to get it together. My boss has decided that our team is going to have an offsite this upcoming week. Location is still unclear, but I’m assuming we’ll go to Golden Gate Park and get away from the office for the day. I think it’s much needed for all of us. My boss had proposed a couple questions for us to think about before we meet and discuss. The three questions has been weighing pretty heavy on my mind as I want my team and myself to continue to collaborate and produce great work. They’re such simple but major questions that I need to answer carefully. I’m trying to figure it all out, but I know we’ll get it together. Main goal is for us to get on the same page as to what we want to accomplish as a team. I worry a lot about the future of the team, but for now I know we’re in a good place at the company. I am proud for how far the team has built a very strong reputation in the company where we now have leverage. But as my boss said to me, it’s like playing chess and we can make any move that we want as long as we’re careful and thoughtful about our move.

Today I went to my usual coffee spot on Sundays to read. It’s actually been awhile since I’ve been to my spot and I’m glad I went. I’ve been reading ‘What I Talk About When I Talk About Running’ by my favorite author Haruki Murakami. It was ironic that when I started reading the book, I had started running again. It’s a nice insight as to how Murakami’s writing career and habit of running coincide together. I apply my recent sparks for running and my career as a designer together. While I continued to sit there reading away, I realized how important during this time in my life I have to be heads down in my career and health as well. There was this one part in the book where Murakami mentioned about important focus and endurance as not only as a runner, but as a writer, too. That really struck a chord with me. I need to regain focus on things. I’m really caught up in my emotions with the changes inside and outside the office. I can’t let that affect me so much.

Here’s a quote that I really liked:

“I’m struck by how, except when you’re young, you really need to prioritize in life, figuring out in what order you should divide up your time and energy. If you don’t get that sort of system set by a certain age, you’ll lack focus and your life will be out of balance.”

Such simple words gave me a little wake up call. It’s much pretty much applying to everything that is happening in my life. I’m at an emotional point in my life, but regardless I need to really get it together and use my time wisely.

Leave a Reply

