Ooh

I love my career, but I absolutely hate having to explain to people what I do. It gets frustrating because they don’t understand what a designer goes through and the shit we have to put up with. I hate it even more that I’ve gone through a few contract positions out here, and when I come across a new opportunity and tell someone their reaction isn’t the greatest. Their response is usually “ooh…”. Whatever happened to congrats?! That kinda shit really irks me because it’s just plain rude. It makes me feel like I’m looked down on because here I am a “struggling” designer that got yet another design job. I don’t need anyone to “feel bad” for me. It’s what comes with staying in this industry. Trust me I don’t enjoy having to bounce from job to job. It was something that stressed me out so much when I first arrived in California going through the whole job searching process or taking on short term contracts. It’s something that I’ve accepted out here and have gotten use to. Designers are primarily contractors because companies don’t want to pay the benefits or provide a work station so they can spend their money elsewhere. It’s as simple as that. It’s definitely a semi shitty position to be in since it lacks security and stability, but it definitely opens doors to different companies and to expand your network as well. I definitely miss the permanent, full time positions back at home, but the opportunities there versus here cannot compare. There’s just a lot of room for me to grow as a designer here. Plus, I feel like I get a lot more respect out here where when it comes to projects, my opinion actually matters. I never got that in Boston. Some of my previous bosses could careless about me as long as the project was completed. There wasn’t any growth or a challenge at all. Anyways, I’m not expecting the red carpet treatment or tons of attention on me when I do share with people that I got yet another new job. I would just like some respect for the career I’ve fought extremely long and hard for. If you don’t want to hear about my career or whatever else, just tell me. It’s as simple as that.

6 comments
  1. Floey said:

    Did you find a new position? Being in creative arts or a creative line of work is always exhausting but so rewarding at the same time.

    • Connie said:

      Yes. I’m fortunate to be able to come across another opportunity so quickly.

      • Floey said:

        That’s wonderful to hear! Congrats 🙂

  2. ahmee9 said:

    Awww that sucks. *hugs* I’m excited for you!! Congratulations on the new job! And hey…at least you can get a new job in such a short time unlike other people! You should say that next time! ;D

    • Connie said:

      Thanks. It’s not even about the length of time for when a person gets a job. It’s mainly about the lack of respect for being in this industry.

      • ahmee9 said:

        That is true, but I think that people like that are just rude. 😛 In any case, I definitely respect you and your industry. Also, did I mention you are amazing for pursuing what you like to do? 🙂

Leave a Reply

