Red Door Cafe

A few weeks ago I went to San Francisco during the weekend. I was doing some exploring and it was time to get something to eat. I wanted to get some brunch that was close by. Plus, having brunch on a Sunday is a ritual for me. I checked on Yelp and Red Door Cafe had some good reviews. I looked at the photos of the food and the establishment and it was very eccentric lol. I drove over and luckily parking wasn’t too bad. I arrived 30 minutes before it closed. The hours here are limiting. I believe they’re open from 10AM-2PM. It’s a very small place that doesn’t allow a party of no more than 2 or 3. Sounds like a good spot because I think the day I went was on Mother’s Day so I’m sure every restaurant in the city was packed. I tried to open the door to the restaurant which was locked, but the owner opened the door for me and seated me. Got to sit wherever since it was just myself and this other couple. The owner was really friendly, sweet and funny. After I picked my seat, he grabbed this plastic penis decor with rings around it and placed it on my table saying, “here’s a lovely small Asian cock for you” lol. Once I got seated, my eyes continued to wander all over the place. Definitely not your typical brunch spot, but I really liked it. There was so much to look at and to me not in a bad way. It was a very unique place. I looked through the menu which was quite small, but the selections they had to offer wasn’t bad. I ordered “the Wet Pussy”, which consisted of grilled French butter croissant with layered Alaskan smoked salmon, tomatoes, onions, capers, topped with 2 fried eggs and “the works”. It was really good, even though it was a bit uncomfortable on my end ordering my dish out loud lol. The girl next to me ordered the same thing and asked me if I liked it as much as she did haha. Overall, great food and service. I’d definitely come back again if I want to be in a smaller, quieter restaurant for brunch. If you’re a total prude this place probably wouldn’t suit you lol. I think it was fun.

Check it out: http://www.yelp.com/biz/red-door-cafe-san-francisco-3

 

2 comments
  1. happyobligations said:

    wow that’s an interesting place! i’m going to bookmark it and go if im ever in SF

Leave a Reply

