Bittersweet Last Day

Mochi galore

Even though today was my last day at my job, yesterday was the last time I saw my coworkers since we all work from home on Fridays. A lot of people on my team didn’t have a clue that Friday would be my last day or as to why I wasn’t gonna say. Regardless of what they think it is, that didn’t matter to them. We decided to go out for lunch one last time as a team at this Thai restaurant in Santa Clara. The food was good and it was a great time hanging out with them. It was no different in or out of the office since we tend to joke around A LOT. There hasn’t been a day that’s gone by at this job where I haven’t gone home laughing hard. That was definitely a memory I’ll cherish the most at this job. Not only did we all produce great work as a team, but they were like my little family and we shared a great bond not only as designers but as friends. After lunch and we got back to the office, one of my coworkers that wasn’t able to make it to lunch since she was coming in later, she brought in a box of mochi from Japan Town. It was such a sweet gesture. I almost started crying but I just said thanks and gave her a hug. She is hands down the funniest person I’ve ever met. A lady will no filter and a great sense of humor will always win me over haha. We mingled around some more and enjoyed the treats. The day was coming to an end and I was ready to pack up and go. Before I shut down my computer I sent my team a thank you e-mail with my contact information. Came 5:00PM and my team said goodbye to me and wished me well. The moment they hugged me I was so close to crying again. They are the nicest people I’ve met here in California so far. I always looked forward to going to work with such great colleagues. I’ve never really been so close with my coworkers at previous jobs yet along the entire team collectively. They helped subside my loneliness and my homesickness. Who knew I’d get so attached to such an amazing group of people? I’ve been lucky to have made such great friends and I hope I never lose touch with these people. Things definitely won’t be the same without them, but like my boss said to me “our paths will cross again someday”.

Mychael Danna – (And) The Winner Is

Generally we have music playing in our office on the company’s tablet, and this song came on when I was packing my things and saying goodbye to everyone. The song kinda suited the moment. I was trying so hard to fight back the tears hearing this song in the background while everyone was hugging me. I said so little so I wouldn’t start crying. One of my coworkers who started the same time as me walked me to my car. Her and I have grown close and it was interesting because she was my first hello and my last goodbye at the company. It was a very bittersweet goodbye. This song will always remind me of them and the good times we had together. There was never a bad day with them nor was anyone in this team disliked.

Onto bigger and better things in my career. I do hope our paths will cross again someday.

2 comments
  1. leaving previous jobs is always bittersweet. i always have mixed feelings of relief and sadness about leaving… i think you expressed them both so well in your post. wherever you move on to next, may God be with you and hopefully you will find another great team of coworkers to work with.

    btw i love that song (and the movie!)

  2. How come it’s over already? You seemed to love the place! Was it a short term job?

Leave a Reply

