One Year Later

The group of people affected by the Boston Marathon bombing photographed.

The group of people affected by the Boston Marathon bombing photographed.

I can’t believe that a year has passed since the Boston Marathon bombings. It’s definitely something that hits me hard. Home is where the heart is, so could you blame me? That tension and fear our city endured a year ago will never be forgotten. As corny as this my sound, I literally remember it like it was yesterday. I was a bit emotional last night just thinking about all the emotions I felt last year along with the chaos that was going on in our city. When I think about this tragic incident, it makes me miss home even more than I do already. What I miss the most about Boston is how truly humble and supportive the people were. I miss that love and community that Boston has to offer. I definitely don’t feel any of that here in California at all and I think it’s something Californians need to get schooled in. I will never forget seeing strangers coming together and comforting each other during this tragic time. Witnessing those acts of kindness really sticks with you forever.

I came into work today rocking my blue pencil skirt and yellow blouse in honor of the anniversary. I even got my Boston Strong t-shirt for the gym after work haha. Representing Boston Strong pretty hard haha. This morning my coworker asked me about what happened exactly that day and I told her how crazy it all was. Describing the details of the event doesn’t compare to the emotions that you experience. I remember just feeling so worried and scared. I was receiving calls and text messages from friends in state and out of state to see if I was okay. I was doing the same as well making sure my friends were safe. I remember stopping by one of the make shift memorials to drop off flowers and to pay my respect, that rush of sadness hit me. That eerie feeling that surrounded Newbury Street and Boylston Street really stuck with me. I felt really sad for the families that lost their loved ones and those that were injured. It’s really inspiring to see how strong the victims are after a year later and seeing them recover. I’m very proud of my friend that was a part of the team that found the second suspect. I am grateful for them to have risked their lives to protect our city and were so brave during that moment. It’s just amazing to see our city become stronger than it was before.

This image of Martin Richard, the youngest victim that died from the bombing, will always get me emotional. For someone so young to make quite a statement prior to his death is really powerful. I can only imagine what his family is going through. Children truly are the future.

RIP Martin Richard

RIP Martin Richard

I went back onto my Xanga account to just look at the old posts I wrote during that time and emotions still haven’t changed since then. Here’s my old posts if you’re curious:

I’ve always had a lot of love for Boston prior to my move. After this event and moving to California, I left with more love for my city than I ever have. I am extremely proud to be a Bostonian.

4 comments
  1. i work in back bay and today they found two backpacks in the area. crazy. also, the asian kid got carjacked by the bombers is one of my really close friends. =(

    • Connie said:

      Yeah I saw on the news about the backpacks today. That’s so crazy. Good thing the police caught the guy and that it wasn’t too serious. The suspect has mental illness apparently. He is just one sick guy. He has posts online about the Boston Marathon bombings and he’s just plain crazy. But that’s crazy that it was your friend. Good thing they’re okay during that time.

  2. Indeed, it was a scary time but did reveal the strength and resilience if it’s people. Thanks for sharing these thoughts.. I wanted to write a reflection post about it too but can’t seem to form the words.

    • Connie said:

      Yeah I had a hard time myself finding the right words. Looking forward to your possible post on this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

