New Day, New Job

This past week I started a new job. I was torn between two jobs I was getting hired for. Both companies liked me (but then again who wouldn’t haha jk), but there were pros and cons to both. The first company was out in the boonies and it wasn’t an amazing company even though I’d still be doing design. Perks of that company was that it was a permanent full time job. The second company is a 3 month contract, great company, amazing benefits, etc etc. So do you go with the stable income or take the risk in hopping on board another contract job? I am taking the risk in hoping that the company will keep me after my contract is over. I even had a hard time sleeping after trying to make a decision. As much as I prefer a stable, full time position, I had to go with my second option. I’d be a total idiot if I declined the offer. This experience in moving out here has been about taking risks, so why not?

My job is just 10-15 minute drive to work, so the commute is awesome and extremely convenient. I was hired along with 3 other designers. The company is in the process of rebuilding their design team. Currently with myself included there was 20 designers and the creative director is hoping to double that number eventually. So there is a chance I could be kept on board, but I don’t wanna get my hopes up. As for my first day it was awesome!! Since it was on St. Patrick’s Day they served corned beef for lunch. I have to say our cafeteria at work serves some pretty bomb food. My boss was nice and bought the ย whole department lunch that day. We sat down together as a team, ate lunch and mingled. Everyone at this company is really nice and laid back. We joke around quite often which is nice. It isn’t such a stuffy environment. They believe in creating that family type of atmosphere at work especially during lunch so no one is left out but they are respectful of your privacy. So if you don’t want to eat lunch with us there’s definitely no hard feelings haha. Later that Monday evening, we went downstairs as a team and got some green beer since it was St. Patrick’s Day. That was my favorite part of the day haha.

The office itself is pretty awesome. Since we’re on the top floor, we have an outdoor patio where you can sit and do work or have lunch. We had lunch out there yesterday and it was pretty cool. There’s an amusement park nearby so we can see the roller coaster from the balcony haha. Apparently during the summer you can hear people screaming on the rides haha. Lots of free snacks and goodies at work, which is always awesome. The conference room is pretty awesome. There’s a white table which you can write on with dry erase markers haha. Apparently there’s several billiards tables in the other building. I am still anticipating the tour of that building!

Today we had a department meeting and we got to meet the new CEO. Really nice British dude. The company is in the process of rebranding so there’s a lot of exciting projects coming our way. As a designer it’s really a rewarding feeling to be on board of not only a brand new project, but to be a part of the company’s entire brand identity. There was definitely a lot of pressure placed on us today during the meeting, but I’m ready for the work and chaos lol. Pretty much we need to be sleeping and breathing the new brand guidelines, which is fine with me.

I love coming into work especially with such an amazing company. I love their esthetics and their high appreciation for their employees. I love my coworkers and to be working with such smart and talented designers. It’s very inspiring and motivating. I’m just really happy that I not only found a job again, but to be working with an amazing company and people. This moment makes me feel a lot happier and reassured in my decision in moving out to the west coast. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 comments
  1. ahmee9 said:

    Congratulations on your new job! I am going to guess that the amusement park is Great America? haha You should go sometime in the summer! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congrats on the new job! Hope all goes well with it. Perhaps you can snap some photos of your awesome office sometime? ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Connie said:

      Thanks! I’ve taken photos of my view and the office for my friends via text messages haha. :p

Leave a Reply

