Update 2/20

I haven’t been in the mood to blog much lately. I feel like I have a lot to say, but I don’t even wanna bother writing it all out or if it’s even worth writing. Figured I’d just write a little update on myself and my thoughts.

Last week I started a new job out in Palo Alto, which is nice. It’s only a short term freelance position but it’s better than nothing. I’m not that happy at this job just because it’s been a bit unorganized and the work flow hasn’t been consistent. I love the work this company does since they are an ad agency and my coworkers are great. I’m just awaiting for this position to end so I can move onto something better. To be honest, I think it was pointless for them to even hire me. I haven’t really done shit. There was probably one day last week where I was hopping back and forth from two desktops since I was working on different projects. These past two days I’ve been working from home since my coworker whom I’m working close with is sick. So it was best to work from home and communicate via e-mail and Skype. The total estimated time that I’ve worked both days is 5-6 hours. So sad. In the beginning I was told there was a lot that needed to get done and I was really excited to jump on board. Clearly not since I’ve just been lingering around haha. But hey it’s better than nothing since I’ve been trying to look at the brighter side of it. Some money in the bank and experience on my resume. Things could be worse.

I’ve started running again. I’ve been going to Communications Hill at night to run. I haven’t gone there in awhile and I feel safer running around there at night since there is a good amount of people getting their sweat on so late. I’ve kinda grown a distaste for running around my neighborhood especially at the trail/park next to my house. It’s just dirty and I get kinda paranoid that someone is behind me even though I go there during the day time. Running or working out is my much preferred hours to do my thing. I feel really relaxed when I get home and before I go to bed so it works out. It’s definitely been really tough trying to build up my stamina again to where it used to be. Every time after I run I feel like my legs are on fire lol. It can be a good or a bad feeling. I’ll eventually get used to it. I’m trying my best to be as consistent as I can.

I’ve hesitated buying a gym membership here in Cali because it’s so expensive. I am used to paying $10 a month. I was definitely so spoiled back in the east coast. Luckily on Groupon I saw that Bally’s had a deal for $10 for one month membership. I couldn’t pass up on that offer. San Jose has like 3 or 4 locations that I can select to go to. Sounded like a good idea until I read the Yelp reviews for each location lol. Apparently they all suck. There’s something bad with each location so now I’m a bit torn as to which location to dedicate myself to. I really hope it’s not as shitty as the reviews are. I am quite skeptical about it.

Valentine’s Day was nothing spectacular to me this year. In fact it never was besides last year when I made a pretty cool card for someone special. Usually every year for Valentine’s Day I “surprise” my mom with a different bouquet of flowers. I pick out the flowers and arrange it all myself. I never wanna give my mom the typical red roses. Gotta keep her guessing haha. Since I’m far away this year and it’s ridiculously expensive for me to send flowers to my mom, I decided to ask my dad to help me out. He is not sentimental whatsoever. He’s never bought my mom flowers ever which is kinda sad. I think every woman deserves a nice bouquet of flowers from a man at some point in her life. I asked my dad to just go to the local florists and pick out something nice for her. He was being a pain in the ass and wanted me to call the store and just tell them to arrange whatever so he can just pick it up. I said no and told him he HAD to pick out the flowers himself lol. I had a feeling he was gonna disappoint me and not go through with such a simple request, but he surprised me. I called the next day and asked if he did what I told him and he said yes. I still thought he was full of shit so I had to call my mom to confirm lol. Of course she told him (and myself in the past) that he didn’t have to get them or waste money like that, but she loved it anyways. That made me really happy where I was gonna get teary lol. I miss doing sentimental things like that for my family and friends back at home.

Lastly, sleeping has been a pain in the ass. I’ve been trying so hard to sleep early and I’ve continued to wake up multiple times in the middle of the night. The other night I went to bed early at 9:30PM, randomly woke up at midnight and after that I was up until 4AM. From there I woke up every hour until I was suppose to get up for work. I felt like complete shit that day. I was actually happy it wasn’t too busy because my mind felt like complete mush. I’ve stopped resorting to melatonin and these other sleep aids. I’ve thought about buying lavender scented pillow mist but I’m not sure how effective it is especially since melatonin couldn’t even knock me out haha. You’d think after working out it would help me sleep but that doesn’t work either. Sighs!!

I guess that’s all I’ve been up to. Work and working out haha. Nothing exciting here but that’s okay. 🙂

6 comments
  1. happyobligations said:

    try lavender oil first or maybe a bath mix?

    • Connie said:

      Yeah I considered that, but unfortunately I only have a shower at my place 😦

      • happyobligations said:

        hm lavender body wash?

  2. There’s some pretty cheap gyms around for like 10 bucks! We have one called Crunch around Sac but not sure about the San Jose area. Otherwise, if you manage to get 24 through Costco, it comes out to be like 15 a month for 2 years. Just need to pay it all up front first! And congrats on starting the new job! You ended up leaving the other one I see? Also, super sweet with how you arrange flowers yourself!

    • Connie said:

      I think we had a Crunch gym back in the east coast. I used to go to Bally’s, Planet Fitness, Workout World and some local gym. Too bad there isn’t that many Planet Fitness around. The only one I know of that’s close enough to SJ is in Fremont. I am not gonna troop it over there to go to the gym haha. I’m making use of the daily sunny weather here by running around my neighborhood so it’s better than nothing.

      My last job was just a contract position. They weren’t able to hire me full time because it wasn’t in their budget. Also prior to my contract ending the company did a HUGE layoff so I knew I wasn’t gonna get hired. But thanks though! 🙂

      I think it’s a tad bit more personable if you arrange the flowers yourself. Sometimes I don’t like what they have out on display or I wanna mix certain flowers together.

      Hope all is well and hope you’re enjoying the weekend!

      • The weather is absolutely beautiful this weekend! Good time to go out and run indeed. 😸

Leave a Reply

