Chinese New Year 2014

Another holiday away from home. This is my first CNY away from home and it’s weird not to see my family. First year not getting any red envelopes but that’s okay. I feel like I’m getting too old to even be receiving any. What I miss the most is all of the bomb food during CNY. Even my cooking can’t compare to my mother’s if I was to ever try to mimic any of her dishes haha.

I called my parents and wished them a happy new year. My mom kept reminding me to go eat some chicken for new year’s. Momma asked and she shall receive! I was really sick during this time and didn’t have much of an appetite, but I dragged my ass out of bed anyways. I drove down the street to get a rice plate with roast duck, BBQ pork, and chicken to go and the food sucked. Worst rice plate I’ve ever had. I sucked it up and ate it since I didn’t want to waste it. Not seeing my family, having shitty food and being sick wasn’t how I wanted to spend my new year. I was already bummed out that I couldn’t make it to temple. That’s how sick I was.

One of my close friends from back at home was in town visiting. She trooped it from Sacramento to SJ to visit her relatives that lives close by to me. It was great to at least see a familiar face during the holiday since she is practically like a sister to me. It’s as close to family as it can get. I went to pick her up from her auntie’s house. When I got there her auntie wanted to meet me so I wouldn’t feel uncomfortable during dinner. She was extremely kind and sweet to me. She was very understanding as to how I felt about being homesick since she moved to SJ by herself, but from Vietnam. After we chatted, she told us to go hang out and to come back to new year’s dinner. I showed my friend around a bit and it was just really nice again to be with someone from back at home.

When we got back to the house for dinner I got to meet some more relatives. All very nice people. I definitely appreciated their hospitality. It made me feel at home again. Towards the end of the night I said my goodbyes to everyone and gave my friend’s auntie a big hug and thanked her again. She told me if I ever felt homesick I should just come over for dinner haha. That definitely tugged on them heart strings big time. Although I was sick and far away from home, it was nice to still somehow have a piece of home here with me. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I left some amazing friends back at home and I’m one very lucky girl to have them in my life.

1 comment
  1. Aww… I hear ya. It’s hard when you’re alone for holiday-I tend to be alone a lot for Christmas or New Years because of work and not being able to travel. It’s such a big difference when you meet friends who welcome you during the new year to celebrate-I’m glad someone did that for you.

    And happy new year! May this year bring your much growth, wisdom, and hope.

Leave a Reply

