Caught Up

John LegendCaught Up

“I wanna get caught up in your love tonight. You can help me just breathe, breathe…”

I just downloaded the new John Legend album, which I’ve been slacking on. Finally had the chance to browse through the album and I love it. I usually like a lot of his songs. Anyways, this one song (obviously the one I posted) has caught my attention the most. It’s been on repeat ever since I first heard it and it’s pretty much getting jam killed haha. Not only is it a catchy song, but there was just something about it. The way John Legend sings it just reminds me of those feelings. Usually most songs that we listen to we either like it because it just sounds good or we’ve associated it with a person or a particular moment.

For me this song doesn’t necessarily remind me of one specific person. It just reminds me of the moments where my feelings grew for a guy and the feelings were mutual. You know that level you reach when you like someone, but there’s something much more special that has developed. It’s where you possibly think to yourself, “damn I really like him a lot.” I remember how exciting and sweet it all felt to be built up to that point. It made me feel so special to share that mutual feeling with a guy. Although the guys I’ve dated in the past are all semi different and how they pursued me, they got me to that point that any girl wants to reach with someone they like. The thought of him makes your heart heavy and comforting at the same time. He’s constantly on your mind no matter how hard you try to redirect your focus. You find yourself taking deep breaths with every thought of him and how strong the emotions are gradually getting. All it even takes is the little things that reminds you of him and how easy something so small could make you smile.

I guess I just miss having someone taking my breath away as corny as that sounds. I miss everything about what those feelings entails. It was just more than sharing the mutual fondness for each other. It was that connection that really made us click. I miss that the most. I haven’t clicked with someone new in awhile. I’m generally one that gets along well with others since I’m pretty easy going, but it takes a lot for me to open up and get on that next level. It’d be great to meet a potential significant other and to share that bond, but the reality is I’m just not ready. Not just yet. I know deep down how lonely I feel, but I’m not desperate to just put myself out there to anyone. I still need some more time. I’m happy for my friends that have found their significant others. I wish I could have something just as special like them.

One day I’ll get caught up again…

Leave a Reply

