New Job

Things are finally starting to look up. I finally feel like I see light at the end of the tunnel. Today I signed a contract to my new job. Finally I’m no longer a bum with no income! Haha … When I had applied to the position I just kinda winged it like I did with a few other applications. The company I’m working for is based in LA and it’s an off site position, which is great. First of all because I would never, ever, ever, EVER move to LA. People there suck even more and it’s never sparked an interest for me EVER. Secondly, I’m saving more money on gas since I don’t have to drive to work as well as lunch money. Only downside to this job is that I’m not in an office environment where I can socialize with my coworkers. Well only a little bit which is through Skype and phone calls, but still that’s not the same as physical interactions. So I’ll still be at home or at a cafe in front of my laptop per usual.
For whatever reason, I’m not so gung ho about this position. I should be extremely excited, but I’m not. I think it’s probably the lack of organization and poor communication that’s turning me off from this position. Oh well. My first day is tomorrow and I’m looking forward to the type of projects I’ll be working on. Honestly, I’m really nervous and I feel like my skills and knowledge are a bit rusty and aren’t as up to par. Being unemployed for practically a year screws with the confidence you once had. I’m trying to be a bit moreΒ enthusiastic about it all. Maybe once the work flow gets going I’ll feel better about things.
Β 
My close friend was saying to me that for me going to temple everyday and praying has definitely helped. I definitely agree with her. It’s lifted my spirits and I see myself at least smiling again. I do pray everyday for for my family, friends, PC and myself. It makes me happy to know that things are gradually getting better for the ones I love and care for. Although things aren’t 100% great (yet, haha), I’ve truly been blessed.
Β 
Today was a good day. Back onto the daily grind tomorrow! πŸ™‚
10 comments
  1. vnlilman said:

    Yaaaay although I disagree with your comments about LA. You never even been here. Don’t knock it till you try it. But no foreals Congrats. A step foot in the door. You can always look for something better

    • Connie said:

      Thanks! Yeah, I’m giving myself some time to get adjusted to my work load before I can take on another position.

  2. mszcheon said:

    Congrats! Slowly but surely. πŸ™‚

    And LA isn’t too bad. I was born and raised. If you ever visit when I’m in town, I’ll show you a good time. πŸ˜€

  3. happyobligations said:

    I’m not from Socal at all but I went to LA for college and I love it. There are some major downfalls (traffic and expense being the biggest) but otherwise, I love the diversity, culture, food, weather, the latest things happening in fashion, cinema, science, cutting edge stuff. Congrats on the job!

  4. titan350 said:

    Awesome to hear! It’s just a stepping stone to something bigger and better. But for now, you need this. Think positive and Congrats!

    • Connie said:

      Thanks! Definitely toughing it out and sucking it up.

  5. congrats on the job! must be nice to be able to work in whatever environment you want to put yourself in though. πŸ™‚

    • Connie said:

      Thanks! It’s convenient but trust me it’s soooo boring!! Haha

Leave a Reply

