DesignerX

Welcome to DesignerX

Welcome to DesignerX

The other day I got a message on LinkedIn and got invited to a design event. In the message it stated that I was invited to this event on behalf of a company that wants to meet me and has viewed information about me. It was called DesignerX which was hosted by HackerX at a firm called General Things. It’s pretty much a speed dating style event where you get to meet companies that are currently hiring. There’s 50 designers that attends and 15 companies you get to meet. Also it’s a great networking opportunity to market yourself and meet other great designers as well. I quickly confirmed my RSVP but I still felt a bit hesitant on going. Why you ask? I felt very unprepared since I am in the process of redesigning my business cards, but at least I have a resume handy and my iPad mini ready to display my portfolio.

Secondly, my confidence as a designer has gone down pretty low. It’s pretty competitive over here (well, everywhere really haha) and I have to say I am intimidated. My skills aren’t as up to par as I’d like them to be. I still want to grow as a designer and expand to web skills, like UI/UX design. Print design is a comfort zone I’ve been wanting to step away from for so long. I am putting in the effort by brushing up some design knowledge and working on new projects, but that level of confidence has slowly gone down the drain.

Anyways, I was indecisive all day on going, but I finally got dressed and dragged my ass up to San Francisco. Met a couple of nice people who I ended up chatting with throughout the event as we waited patiently in line to speak with these big companies. Overall, I thought the event was disappointing. It was unorganized and not as detail oriented as it should’ve been. The idea was great yet poorly executed. Would I attend again? Maybe. I barely got to meet all of the 15 companies representing this event and I wasn’t the only one. I met with 3 out of 15 companies. The 5 minutes that we were suppose to have was definitely longer than 5. It felt like 10 minutes. It definitely should’ve been shortened to 3 minutes. Also, some of the companies weren’t as specific to what they’re company is looking for or even giving brief information about their company.

Like myself and many others, we were confused majority of the time. Even when arriving and “checking in” was confusing. No one was really there to check you in. I just saw a bunch of name tags and grabbed for mines. Prior to attending the event, there was no information as to how formal or informal this event was. Us designers were confused if we should’ve brought our resume and portfolios or nothing at all. It was just general basic things that should’ve been stated. I had contacted the person that reached out to me about this event and there was poor communication there. That was another reason for why I didn’t really want to attend the event.

On a positive note, I’m glad I left the event meeting a couple great designers and it was very reassuring to know that we’re all on the same boat. We all want growth as a designer and to aspire for more. I really don’t think anyone has any idea how hard it is to stay in this field. Even though we’re pretty much each other’s competition, people were equally as supportive. It’s comforting to have met others that are just as ambitious as I am are, especially in the design world.

Check it out: http://www.designerx.org/

7 comments
  1. vnlilman said:

    Thank you for the awesome idea. My roommate’s having a tough time finding a job. You reminded me of going to an open house for Countrywide. It was fun. A job fair type thing sounds even funner! Sometimes I wish I was unemployed…

    • conyeeezy said:

      Psh you do not wish you were unemployed! Lol. I absolutely hate it so much!! This event was invite only which was pretty cool. I still went to design events to network when I was employed just to meet other designers. But good luck to your roomie!

  2. vnlilman said:

    What?? unemployment sounds awesome. Getting paid to act like you’re looking for a job? yes please. Plus i’d also like to prove to myself how easy(or who knows, how hard) it is to find a job. Well she says thank you and if you’re unemployed, good luck to you as well.

  3. vnlilman said:

    oh wait, you said you hated it which means you are. =x for missing that the first time around. in that case, can we trade places for a week?

    • conyeeezy said:

      Lol. Only if you’re a designer then yes, if not then negative haha

  4. Good luck, hope you hear back from them!

    • conyeeezy said:

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

